Tech

WhatsApp delete for everyone doesn't actually delete your messages. Wait, what?

WhatsApp delete for everyone doesn't actually delete your messages. Wait, what?

It lets users delete or recall sent messages within seven minutes of sending them.

Also, recipients can still read the "deleted messages" on their devices despite the sender's deletion.

This is one way to get access to the deleted WhatsApp messages. Next, tap on Activities and then Notifications log to view notification log of the system. Install the Notification History application. The application - Notification History is available on Google Play store and can be downloaded from there. The report reveals that the deleted message will be present in the notification log of the recipient's smartphone. The receiver would just have to download a third-party app like Notification History and search for that particular WhatsApp missive along with its timestamp and date. First of all, only text messages can be viewed and one will not be able to recover deleted images, video or other media files.

If the "Settings" widget is added to the home screen, you will probably find the "Notification registration" option, as we saw in this article with a Motorola Moto G.

On stock Android, a Settings widget can give access to the notification log as well.

More news: Digital Realty Trust (NYSE:DLR) Trading Down - Shorts Down -17.49%

Just click on the notification for that particular WhatsApp message and look for the line that says android.text.

There are certain limitations to viewing the deleted messages, first it can only view text message and the blog post clarifies that just the first 100 characters of message will be visible to users. Also, the log is deleted when the phone is restarted.

3- if the users want to read the deleted message without downloading any third party note. Along with this, the notification center will consist of the messages for which the user has received a notification.

Further, the messages are apparently stored for a few hours on the device and are deleted if users restart their device.

The Independent tried out both methods and found that, while it is possible to view messages that have been deleted, you need to have already interacted with them. Android 7.0 appears to be best suited for this endeavor, as the publication wasn't able to replicate it on Marshmallow even though the older OS has a notifications history feature as well. However, you're safe if you accidentally sent a photo or video to someone you shouldn't have, and deleted it afterwards.