World News

Akhilesh says UP bypoll results a message to national politics

Akhilesh says UP bypoll results a message to national politics

The two Lok Sabha seats were vacated by Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and his deputy Keshav Prasad Maurya. The Samajwadi Party defeated the BJP in the two constituencies. The third - Araria - is in Bihar, and was won by the Rashtriya Janata Dal.

In Gorakhpur, SP candidate Praveen Kumar Nishad won over BJP rival Upendra Dutt Shukla by a margin of 21,961 votes.

Gorakhpur is significant for the BJP as it is the stronghold of the Chief Minister, who represented the seat in the Lok Sabha five times. For the opposition parties, of course, the challenge remains daunting as will have to bury their multiple differences even as the BJP will leave no stone unturned in bringing back its focus on Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, which together send 120 members to the Lok Sabha. Adityanath spearheaded the BJP campaign with as many as 16 public rallies in his pocket borough.

Both Lok Sabha seats were won by Samajwadi Party with erstwhile firm foe BSP backing its candidates.

In another tweet, he named the 10 Lok Sabha seats - Amritsar, Srinagar, Malappuram, Gurdaspur, Ajmer, Alwar, Uluberia, Gorakhpur, Phulpur and Araria.

- Gorakhpur: BJP- 15577, SP- 13911.

It may be mentioned that while Phulpur was won by BJP for the first time in 2014 since independence, the party has been winning Gorakhpur since 1991.

More news: Stock Alert on Cisco Systems, Inc. (NASDAQ:CSCO) Shares

In Bihar, the BJP faced heavy losses too.

Another vacancy has been created by the resignation of Nana Patole, elected on the BJP ticket in 2014 from Bhardara Gondia in Maharashtra. Since then, Adityanath's hold on the constituency seems to only have grown, until now.

Yogi Adityanath admitted that the result was unexpected and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was overconfident with the winning streak in several elections held at different levels.

In small consolation for the BJP, its candidate Rinki Rani Pandey retained the Bhabhua Assembly seat for the party, defeating her Congress rival Shambhu Singh Patel by about 14,000 votes.

The results are expected to be declared by afternoon, an EC official said.

The former chief minister also congratulated Samajwadi Party (SP) President Akhilesh Yadav and BSP chief Mayawati for the stupendous performance in Gorakhpur and Phulpur. For the Congress, these bypolls were a no-show. The victory of the alliance has sent alarm bells ringing in the BJP headquarters, and Amit Shah and other top leaders including Narendra #Modi are meeting to take stock of the situation. We failed to realize its impact and overconfidence is one of the reasons.

The by-poll results, particularly from Uttar Pradesh, are the best news so far for the Opposition which has been travelling from one electoral defeat to another in the past four years with just three exceptions - Delhi, Bihar and Punjab in chronological order.