World News

Singhvi, Ketkar among 10 Congress candidates for Rajya Sabha polls

Singhvi, Ketkar among 10 Congress candidates for Rajya Sabha polls

Monday is the last day for filing of nomination for the Rajya Sabha election.

The BJP has fielded Ghaziabad-based businessman Anil Agarwal and two others in the March 23 elections.

The 10 Congress candidates include senior journalist Kumar Ketkar from Maharashtra, and former Union minister Naranbhai Ratwa and the party's familiar television face Amee Yajnik from Gujarat. In an announcement in the evening, the party in a release said Naik's candidature was cleared by its national president Rahul Gandhi.

Meanwhile, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley will contest from Uttar Pradesh and Union Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad from Bihar. Rana and Valera also filed their nominations during the last half-an-hour allotted for the goal.

Sources claimed that after SP MP Naresh Agarwal was denied renomination by Akhilesh Yadav for another term in the Rajya Sabha, the possibility of cross-voting by some of the SP MLAs in favour of the BJP candidates had increased.

More news: European Union slams trade 'bullies' as Trump tariffs row deepens

With their current strength in the assembly, two candidates of the Congress and one from BJP can get elected comfortably.

Seven candidates, including Valera and Rana, have filed nominations for four seats falling vacant from the state. The three candidates are L Hanumanthaiah, Naseer Hussain and G.C Chandrashekar - a Dalit, A Muslim, and a Vokkaligga (a dominant OBC community), respectively.

On the other side, Congress has also released the list of 10 names for Rajya Sabha. There seems to be a fight between Congress's third candidate and Farooq.

The Bharatiya Janata Party Central Election Committee on Sunday decided the following names for the ensuing biennial Rajya Sabha elections to the council of different states. BM Farooq filed nomination as a JDS candidate. It is already learnt to have won over three independents in the state assembly leaving it with just a few more votes needed for its 9th candidate. Likewise, Congress is also having enough numbers of MLAs through which it will easily retain its lone Rajya Sabha seat from Madhya Pradesh.