World News

Voting for Rajya Sabha elections 2018 begins

Voting for Rajya Sabha elections 2018 begins

Voting in the crucial biennial elections for the 10 Rajya Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh began here on Friday.

After loss of by-poll elections in Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, the BJP left no stone unturned to win the battle against Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) when its candidate Anil Agarwal, a Ghaziabad-based businessman, defeated Mayawati's candidate Bhimrao Ambedkar in a cliffhanger of a contest that went to the wire.

SP nominee Jaya Bachchan, however, emerged victorious with 38 first preference votes.

The Rajya Sabha results came days after the BJP lost Lok Sabha bypolls to Gorakhpur and Phulpur to a joint force of the SP and the BSP.

BJP MLAs Sidhartha Nath Singh and Shrikant Sharma at the state assembly in Lucknow.

After declaration of the results late night Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath said that he was thankful to all those who supported BJP candidates.

More news: Journalist assault row: Mediapersons gherao Delhi Police HQs

The BSP leader, however, did not comment on whether the alliance with SP will continue stressing that it was a policy decision which will be taken only by party president Mayawati.

While Samajwadi Party candidate Jaya Bachchan was re-elected, BJP nailed 9 out of 10 seats up for grab from the state including the one of Finance Minister Arun Jaitley.

SP and BSP had put up one candidate each.

Two of the three legislators who could not cast their votes, Mukhtar Ansari of the BSP and SP legislator Hari Om Yadav, are in jail, while the Noorpur seat in Bijnor fell vacant following the death of BJP MLA Lokendra Pratap Singh. She got 38 votes, which means that independent MLA Raghuraj Pratap Singh "Raja Bhaiya" voted for her over and above the 37 votes allotted to her by the party. "Such ballot papers will not be counted as well (Rules 39AA (2) of Conduct of Election Rules, 1961)", he said in the complaint. Counting started after EC rejected the objection after going through video footage. V. L. Narasimha Rao and Anil Kumar Agarwal. Speaking to mediapersons after their victory, Prakash Mudiraj and Lingaiah Yadav said the Chief Minister gave them a rare opportunity to represent the Backward Classes in the Rajya Sabha.

After winning, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader told the media that she would work in the interest of the nation and the state.

"I have used my vote as per rules".