Tech

WhatApp rolls out improvements for Groups feature

WhatApp rolls out improvements for Groups feature

Groups are an important part of WhatsApp as they're used by families and friends to stay in touch with each other and even business teams to get work done.

Six new features have been added to WhatsApp Group. On May 15, WhatsApp announced several updates to group chats that allow members to catch up on what they've missed quickly while giving administrators additional controls.

The new version of the app for iOS and Android enables groups to add a description setting out the goal, guidelines and topics for the group chat. Through this feature, they can search for the participants in the group. "We've also introduced protection so users can't be repeatedly added to groups they've left", the company explained.

More news: Death Of Keeven Robinson, Black Louisiana Man In Police Custody, Ruled Homicide

Most of these nee Group updates have already been spotted on the beta version of the app but the features have now moved out of the beta build and are now available to all in the stable build of WhatsApp. The group description can be changed by group admins and participants, with admins also having the option to restrict participants from doing so. These features will be available to both the existing and new groups. Now, WhatsApp will let you catch up on messages that mention or reply to you by tapping on a new @ button which will appear at the bottom right corner of the chat window.

WhatsApp has made improvements while rolling out administrative controls and other featured for Group chats.

Admins can control this by heading over to the Group Info Group Settings Edit group info. The feature didn't take off with the same functionality as Facebook did but it comes with better user facility now. As you scroll through the unread group chats on WhatsApp you will see the '@' icon on the side. WhatsApp Groups can have as many as 256 people and this will make this easy to do. At the same time group creators can not be removed from the group they have started.