Tech

Facebook Messenger to introduce new 'delete sent messages' feature

Facebook Messenger to introduce new 'delete sent messages' feature

Facebook Messenger will soon introduce a feature that lets you delete a message up to 10 minutes after it's already been sent. WhatsApp, a service now also owned by Facebook, gives users 68 minutes and 16 seconds to remove a mistakenly sent message.

Mark Zuckerberg was caught out earlier this when it was found he, and other high-level Facebook execs, had the ability to erase messages they had sent to other people's inboxes. Said something embarrassing? Don't worry, you can unsend that Facebook message, but you better be fast!

Facebook didn't announce the feature yet, but The Verge spotted it in the "coming soon" section of the release notes from Messenger for iPhone version 191.0.

More news: Harry Kane: Rooney should be England captain on Wembley farewell

Bottom line: Great news for people who take their phones with them on nights out: Facebook Messenger's long-talked-about unsend feature is nearly here.

Users of the popular messaging site and app will be given the opportunity to delete a message after it has been sent.

Ten minutes seems like a reasonable time period. It doesn't actually send the email until it passes that buffer time. We reported back in October about the functionality, pointing out the benefits and disadvantages of the Unsend messages option.