Virat Kohli completes historic hat-trick: Full list of ICC award winners

Virat Kohli completes historic hat-trick: Full list of ICC award winners

He claimed 17 wickets in the two-Test series against Australia, after having picked up 19 wickets in England and Ireland earlier in the year.

After receiving the honour, Kohli said,"It has been an fantastic year". Captain Virat Kohli swept all three top awards and was also named the captain of the Test and ODI teams of the year, both of which are highly dominated by Indian players.

The swashbuckling Indian batsman enjoyed an overwhelming 2018 with the bat and led Team India to several victories in all formats of the game.

"Someone like Virat is certainly a player I admire and enjoy to watch and he's pushing the boundaries of the game so that's brilliant", said Williamson in Napier today before the 3pm ODI series opener at McLean Park from 3pm. "That is something I experienced in 2018 a lot". Five other nations make up the remainder of the Test team - Dimuth Karunaratne (Sri Lanka), Jason Holder (Windies), top-ranked Kagiso Rabada (South Africa), Nathan Lyon (Australia) and Mohammad Abbas (Pakistan). Three players, each from India and New Zealand, were named in Test team while four players, each from India and England, were named in ODI squad.

Virat Kohli has been named captain of both sides following a remarkable 2018 as batsman and skipper.

More news: WhatsApp limits forwarding message to five chats globally

Bangladesh's Mustafizur Rahman, top-ranked Rashid Khan (Afghanistan) and Ross Taylor (New Zealand) complete the ICC ODI XI.

Reflecting on his inclusion in the ICC Test team, New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson said, "This looks like an individual piece of recognition but it is much more about the team".

"He's a respectful guy and I've known him for a very long time but as a player, obviously, word class and our focus is more about that and his cricketing ability and how we can combat him as best as we can".

Captain of ICC Test Team of the Year ✅. "I thank the ICC for the honour and to the jury for taking the effort to go through the elaborate process". He had also bagged the ODI player of the year award in Kagiso Rabada came close to challenging Kohli's award for ICC Player of the Year and the Test player of the year, Rashid Khan threatened to take away the ICC ODI player of the year award from the India captain before falling short.