New Zealand vs India - Highlights & Stats

New Zealand vs India - Highlights & Stats

New Zealand's beaten India by four runs in a nail-biting deciding third T20 in Hamilton, with the tourists restricted to 208 in pursuit of 213 for victory. For New Zealand, Blair Tickner has been given his maiden national cap and he replaces rested Lockie Ferguson in the line-up.

Dropped for the opening two one-day internationals of New Zealand's upcoming series against Bangladesh, Munro responded in defiant fashion to help the hosts post a commanding 212 for four wickets after the hosts were asked to bat first.

The visitors will now look to capitalize on their win and aim to end their month-long tour to New Zealand on a high note.

The morale-boosting victory for New Zealand came after being whipped 4-1 by India in the earlier one-day global series.

India did not get the anticipated start to their chase as they lost Shikhar Dhawan in the very first over.

More news: Aston Martin to preview second Lagonda model at Geneva

Kane Williamson 27 (21) and Colin de Grandhomme 30 (16) kept the run-rate around 10 before Daryl Mitchell and Ross Taylor struck 19 (11) and 14 (7) respectively to cap the innings.

Once Shankar was dismissed, Rishabh Pant (28 from 12 balls) took over and blitzed three sixes to keep India's momentum going but he was the first of four wickets to fall in as many overs as New Zealand hit back. In between these two dismissals, the Kiwis also got the wicket of a settled Rohit Sharma to tilt the odds in their favour. However, after that Krunal Pandya and Dinesh Karthik made the interesting with their power-packed partnership of 63 runs only in 29 balls.

Karthik finished on 33 runs off 16 balls while Krunal finished on 26 runs off 13 balls.

Rohit Sharma, the India captain, elected to bowl in the third and final T20I match, at Seddon Park in Hamilton, with series levelled 1-1.