Sports

Johnson avoids penalty, not embarrassment at Masters

Johnson avoids penalty, not embarrassment at Masters

But here's the thing: it was a practice swing, so the shot doesn't count.

Zach Johnson of the United States plays his shot from the eighth tee during the second round of the Masters at Augusta National Golf Club on April 12, 2019 in Augusta, Georgia.

Ultimately, Johnson did not need to take a penalty stroke because he had not meant to hit the ball and it was not yet in play. Under USGA rules, Johnson was allowed to re-tee without penalty because it was not intentional. His drive didn't make it out of the tee box after it appeared to ricochet off the marker.

As Johnson's group informed him, there was no penalty for the freaky gaffe because it clearly happened while he was taking a practice swing.

More news: Google & Huawei Agree to Pay Damages to its Nexus 6P Users

Luckily for Johnson, no penalty was given since he did not intend to hit his ball.

After 13 holes of play, Johnson now sits at one-under for the day and one-over for the tournament.

Johnson would go on to birdie the hole, one of three birdies against four bogeys in a one-over par 73 that left Johnson with a 36-hole total of three-over par 147. "I actually hit a really good tee shot after that, so I think I recovered nicely".

Playing in consecutive groups during the second round Friday, Kisner and Johnson had some, let's just say, interesting moments. "I thought I'd done it all, but now I know I have", said the 43-year-old, who added Kuchar would not let him forget the gaffe.