Economy

Facebook Brings Face Recognition to All Users, Discontinues 'Tag Suggestions'

Facebook Brings Face Recognition to All Users, Discontinues 'Tag Suggestions'

Face Recognition will be turned off by default, and if you weren't part of the Tag Suggestions trial group, you'll see a notification in your News Feed asking if you want to activate it.

Users will be allowed to keep the "facial recognition" feature switched off, users can tag others manually but Facebook itself will not give them any suggestions. "We've continued to engage with privacy experts, academics, regulators and people on Facebook about how we use face recognition and the options you have to control it", the company said. A spokesperson told Fast Company, "In the USA and [other countries] where Tag Suggestions was available, we respected people's Tag Suggestions settings choice".

Facebook had a somewhat creepy default face-scanning feature that wold scan and attempt to match faces in photos to the users they belonged to.

If you have Face Recognition turned on, Facebook will notify you if someone uploads a photo of you.

But despite Facebook's efforts to communicate its updated policy clearly, some users may still be left in the dark. This controlled tag suggestions, as well as the ability for Facebook to alert users if their photos were being used by someone else on the platform.

More news: Manchester City sweat on Aymeric Laporte injury news

Tag suggestions was used to suggest names for users' friends on Facebook.

There may be reasons to turn facial recognition on. "It also provides an easy on or off switch for a broader set of uses of face recognition, such as helping you protect your identity on Facebook", explained Narayanan.

Ultimately, Facebook was ordered to adhere to a number of new measures around its face recognition technology, including educating users on how it works and requiring the company to obtain their consent if their data is used for reasons beyond what was explicitly outlined by the company. Facebook introduced the facial recognition setting in 2011 for some of its users.

In addition, features like Photo Review, which lets users know when they appear in photos even if they are not tagged, as long as they have permission to see the post based on its privacy setting, will not be activated. And the company said it doesn't sell its technology or share your face-recognition information with third parties.